Node-gyp version Error

Hi,
I am a student on a technician college and today our prof told us to use node-red with our groove project to interact with it over the serial port.
People like me with own devices were totally lost, because he did not provide any help in getting node-red running on our machines, beside to tell us the link of the node-red website.

So far I got node.js, npm and node-red installed and up running too.
But now I can't install the Serial Port pallet and get always a node-red and node-gyp version error, while I am using the latest node-gyp 7.1.2 and red 12.19. :face_with_monocle:

If someone could help me to solve this problem and getting the Serial Port installed, I would be extremely thankful. :hugs:

ps. I did 1:1 the steps on my PC and everything worked like a charm. Finished the school work and handed it in. But still, wiped node-red and node.js from my laptop, rebooted, repeated the same tasks as on my PC and like provided on the site here, result is the same as in the pic above. :pensive:

Did you follow these instructions for installing on Windows? https://nodered.org/docs/getting-started/windows.

Open a terminal and go your .node-red folder, then run
npm install node-red-node-serialport
and copy/paste the result here (not a screenshot please). When pasting in logs (or code or flows) use the </> button at the top of the forum text entry window to ensure the forum doesn't mess with the text.
That may just show the same error, but it may provide more information. Please post it anyway, along with the line where you enter the command.

1 Like

Yes, I followed the steps from https://nodered.org/docs/getting-started/windows..

Did run the line from the .node-red folder and got this:

C:\Users\Haral>cd .node-red

C:\Users\Haral\.node-red>npm install node-red-node-serialport

> @serialport/bindings@9.0.2 install C:\Users\Haral\.node-red\node_modules\@serialport\bindings
> prebuild-install --tag-prefix @serialport/bindings@ || node-gyp rebuild