Node-red to mysql - incorrect datetime value

Hello there, I am new to Node-Red but I like the idea and possiblilities very much. With my very first project, I tried to implement the "Log MQTT to MySQL" flow (Log MQTT to MySQL (flow) - Node-RED)

But I haven´t get it to work so far, I keep getting this error code :slight_smile:
"Error: ER_TRUNCATED_WRONG_VALUE: Incorrect datetime value: '2020-02-06T09:55:33.184Z' for column 'timestamp' at row 1"

I have been looking all over the place to find a solution, it seems, that a lot of people have the same problem, but the simple answer, how to change the ISO-timestamp to something, that MySQL accepts, did not show up (or did I simply not find).

Which function can I use instead of

out = out + "VALUES ('" + new Date().toISOString() + "','"

I appreciate any help,
Jürgen

Please search the forum, it has been answered here many times previously...

Hi Paul, thank you for your reply, I was hoping for such an answer. Have a great day !

Try searching for;
ER_TRUNCATED_WRONG_VALUE

1 Like

Hi Paul, I found what I was looking for, but not in the forum! Thanks again!

1 Like

Feel free to add a link here - ready for next time .

2 Likes

Hi Jay (I guess, that is your name),

I found a table, where the javascript date/time methods are described, I then changed the method from ISOString to toLocaleDateString(), but now, my table shows only the date and not the time. What I find confusing, is, that I followed the instructions on how to insert MQTT data into MySQL step by step, set up the database accordingly and still get error codes (apparently not only me).

Did you look in this forum?

The details for how to use date/time with MySQL are in the excellent online manual:

https://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/8.0/en/date-and-time-types.html

It does not accept an ISO formatted date string. However, it would appear trivial to replace the "T" with a space and to remove the trailing "Z".