Node ui-builder

Hello everyone!

I've seen that there are very kind people in this forum and I've been encouraged to write my problems with UI bUilder :slight_smile:

I'm new to UI Builder and I had some problems.

What I want is a button that, if the user clicks on it, the typical "loading" logo appears and finally tells the user if the action has been performed or not.

For the back end (sending the action, checking that it has been sent correctly, etc.) I already had a subflow made and I would like to reuse it. This sends the action to the corresponding actuator, and thanks to debug4, I know through a msg if the action has been performed or not.
What I'm experiencing is that in the ui-builder node, in the front, I have to trigger the "showLoading()" function in the onclick to show to the user the typical "loading" drawing, but I want that, depending on whether the action has been performed or not, the "Action performed correctly" or "Action not performed correctly" function is triggered (which is normally done in javascript), with its corresponding display. But I only know that information about whether the action has been performed correctly through debug 4 that the flow offers me. Is it possible to obtain after X time, the value of a node-red global variable or pass that msg to the "uiBuilder" node so that it has the information? It's the only thing I've thought of so far.

Any recommendations are welcome!

Greetings and thanks!

Hi and welcome to the forum.

The 1st thing to note when using UIBUILDER or one of the Dashboards is that what happens in the client browser is an entirely separate computing context than what happens in Node-RED. The core of UIBUILDER is to provide a 2-way data link between Node-RED and connected browser clients.

So, to enable some event in Node-RED to update a connected client, you need to start by sending some data to the uibuilder node when that Node-RED event triggers a message flow.