NodeRed not getting persisting messages from MQTT Broker after offline

Hi Folks,

Similar to this thread, but, I've read it all and tried a lot of the things, afraid I'm still stuck.

(I'd really like to avoid using a database to solve this, I'm a pretty average programmer, my applications are simple and I like the easy nature of NodeRed)

What I'd like to do:
If my NodeRed client goes down temporarily e.g. due to laptop going to sleep or being unplugged. I'd liked it to pick up the messages it missed from the MQTT broker whilst it was offline.

My test application is a simple temperature sensor sending three temperatures to a dashboard with a gauge & a chart. I'd like the chart to keep it's old data if NodeRed goes down.

I have already done the following:
Subscriber (My Windows Laptop)
MQTT in node:

1. Use Clean Session - set to false (unticked)
  2. Enable secure SSL/TLS Connection.
  3. Set the subscriber QoS to 1

Used a change node to save the data from the chart output to my filestore then an inject node to put it back once on startup. I can see old data but only from times the system was online. The chart just flatlines the gaps inbetween.

Publishing Client Side (Pi Pico):

1. Use Clean Session - set to false
    client.connect(clean_session=False)
  2. Set the publish of the message QoS to 1
    client.publish(temperatureIdBytes, temperatureReadingBytes, qos=1)

Perhaps people can give me some ideas of how to debug this problem myself or if its obvious I'm missing something?

Debugging tried:
On HiveHQ I can see the messages coming into the broker with a QoS of 1 via the webclient. So I know they're there.

But when I close my CMD window to fake the NodeRed going down or disconnect the wifi temporarily I still get flat spots on the my chart.

The MQTT server will only send the last (retained) message it received for a particular topic, when you reconnect to it.

i.e. it doesn't store any history of messages for any given topic, just the last one.