Nodered, refactoring code and autocompletion

Hello everyone,

I'm relatively new to nodered, and using it mainly for my home automation. I already learned a lot using this forum on another subject. I now have a question regarding refactoring code and autocompletions within nodered.

I'm at the point of having variables defined as flow variables in a flow that, in the end, I'd need to access from another flow. This should imply to have used my variables as global instead of flow.

I know that I can make searches on the var names for example and nodered returns all the instances where the result is found but it implies making manual changes on every instance.

1. Is there an elegant way to perform such changes quite automatically, like for each instance of 'myvar' replace all the flow.set or flow.get by global.get/set? Including in all nodes like switch nodes or so?

2. Is the option of modifying the flows.json file through an editor acceptable?

3. Is there also a possibility for the editor to propose some autocompletion based on context variables names?

Thanks for your help and suggestions.

Hi,

For 3, it's done :wink: Add auto-complete to flow/global typedInput types by knolleary · Pull Request #4480 · node-red/node-red · GitHub

Be there soon :yum:

1 Like

Option 2 might be the way…

1. Export all flows from the editor
  2. Find/Replace (in the file that gets exported)
  3. Re-import (you will have to remove old duplicates)

As said by @GogoVega version 3 does support auto complete, but that’s still in oven

Or you edit the flows.json file directly and restart NR :nerd_face:

You will have to make sure nothing is written to or modifies the flows file if going down that route.

I don’t know if something gets written whilst restarting :man_shrugging:

Modifying the flows file whilst it’s running seems risky