Obtain value from HTML file

Complete noobie question, but here goes...

We have a measurement device (circa 2000) that is connected to our local network and (as I found through trial and error) can display the reading on a locally accessed webpage. I was able to inspect the underlying HTML file and put it through an HTTP request in Node-RED. See screenshots below (taken at slightly different times, hence the different values):

From other forum posts, I believe the solution is to use {{ }} in the URL field, but that's where I am stuck. I have tried several variations but the payload / output looks the same. For example:

I believe I am missing something fairly obvious. Any help is appreciated. All I want to do is obtain the one value (e.g. 2104, 2119, whatever) that is there when I send the request.

You can try returning the result as JSON instead of a string, then you can pick out the nearest property and, if needed, tidy it up with a change node.

There is also the html node which gives you more control over extracting just part of a page if you need it.

Hi @grant1

In this instance, that is not what you want to look at. You have the URL you need already - as we can see from the Node-RED screenshot you've shared. So you already have a message now with its payload containing the full text of the html page.

Your challenge is to extract the number from the middle of the text. There are a few different ways of doing that.

In this instance, the HTML is not very well structured to help you pull out the number - the number is just sat in the middle of the content. As far as I can see, its the only number in the page. So a fairly hacky approach would be to use a Change node to delete everything that isn't a number from the text.