One Function node instead of multiple change nodes!

I have a lot of change nodes which sets new properties to the msg.payload as shown below. I want to use function node instead of multiple change nodes which are complex to read! How can I achieve this? Please help, I am new to Node-Red!

Regards,
Mukara

I tried to implement the above requirement using function node (tested only for 2 variables), but can't get the desired output! It reacts nothing!

Any Idea how to achieve this using function node? Please advice!

Regards,
Mukara

In a function node you can use simple assignment statements like this:

msg.payload.event = "speed skating";
msg.payload.location = "Lillehammer";
msg.payload.time = 107.68;

Thank you @jbudd

I tried this below function its not working either,
Function:

msg.topic = 'NodeID;ns=3;s="ExGrafanaDB"."MachineState"."Data"."Mode"."TimeProductionStart"';
msg.measurement= 'ExGrafanaDBMachineStateDataModeTimeProductionStart';

msg.topic = 'NodeID;ns=3;s="ExGrafanaDB"."MachineState"."Data"."Mode"."TimeProduction"';
msg.measurement= 'ExGrafanaDBMachineStateDataModeTimeProduction';

Any other suggestions are also welcome!

Regards,
Mukara

In what sense not working?

Do you really want to set msg.topic to that long and complex string, or are you hoping to include values from somewhere else?

So that we can understand what you are doing, share some of your data and the msg you want to create from it.

When I connect this function node between time trigger node & OPC UA client node, its not returning anything like its returned with individual change node for each variable (as shown in my original first post)!

I am trying to read all the available values from opc server running on siemens PLC and store them all (on value change) in Influx DB as measurements.

In order to use OPC Ua Client node which reads & stores them all into the database server (Influxdb), I have to set the msg.topic & msg.measurement for each variable which I want to store!
Flow: