Parse Data from XML

Hi,

I am still learning node-red, I was able to complete one part of the project recently thanks to all of your help. I now have another part of the project I am stuck on. I have a XML file that I needed to parse data from. I will attach the XML file to the question. I was wondering if there was a way I can use a particular node that would help me parse data from the XML file.

Specifically I needed the TenderType and Amount. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you in advance.

incometest.txt (1.8 KB)

Try the xml node that will convert from xml to a javascript object or the other way.

Use xml and then link it to a debug node

Was just trying that node, how would I access the particular value from the JS object? maybe from a function?

you could use a function or a change node.

But use a debug node to take a look at the object and look at the “working with messages” page in the docs to see how useful the debug panel can be.

That did help it convert it into a JavaScript Object. I tried to put in a function node in between and maybe access some of the values in the object. How would you suggest I do that? Syntax wise in the function node.

Thank you

Hi @KevinPamu - as Mark mentioned, the https://nodered.org/docs/user-guide/messages page in the docs tells you how you can use the Debug sidebar to identify the path to any element in the message - it can copy that path straight to your clipboard.

Once you have that you could do something like:

msg.payload = msg.<paste-the-path-from-debug-sidebar-here>;
return msg;

Or similarly using the Change node.

Thank you for the reply @knolleary I tried doing that and receive this message, "TypeError: Cannot read property 'Transaction' of undefined". Will keep trying to work with it. However, I will receive more than one message like that and I was wondering if there would be a way I can have a set syntax to get the values for every xml file.