Pass data between local & remote sites

I have a MQTT Mosquitto server running on a Raspberry Pi, and it receives local energy data every 5 seconds, along with other MQTT data - switches, environmental data etc.
Currently, the same Pi processes the data in node-RED, and publishes it in a NR dashboard & Grafana.

However, I've also setup node-RED in a Oracle VM, and considering processing/displaying the data in the VM instance instead of my local Pi.

What would be the best way to securely/efficiently get the data to the VM from my local Pi, and get data back from the VM to my local Pi?

• MQTT using SSL/TLS
  • MQTT over websockets
  • Websockets
  • Something else

I've no experience of doing any of the above, and I've a feeling that this is going to be a learning curve!!

"Best" way is probably push MQTT over TLS.

"Easiest" way likely to be using Node-RED to replicate messages to the remote broker. You would also want TLS for that too though unless you are using a secure connection to the VPS (an SSH tunnel for example).

Best security is to ensure that you are only ever pushing data to the VPS & that the VPS has no way to send data back the other way.

That leaves me with a bit of a problem because both sites are proxied by Cloudflare, and port 1883 is permenantly closed.
I've read a number of previous posts about this, but not really seen a viable solution.

One suggestion made was to use MQTT over websockets, but I've found little information about this, let alone a NR example flow to work from. Also is this a resource hungry approach?

Another mentioned creating a sub-domain, and 'greying out' (removing) the cloudflare proxy from the sub-domain, so port 1883 would then be open for the sub-domain url.
However, just tried that, and cloudflare reported that I was exposing my main domain, as proxied & non-proxied traffic was being directed to the same server IP.