Question about Function Node and Topic syntax

This is my first post on this forum and I am very new to Node Red. It seems very exciting and I have already developed a very nice home automation application which has encouraged me to explore and develop more complex applications. My environment is Node Red (V1.2.3) running on a RasPi3.

I have a question which seems very basic but I am unable to find documentation on it anywhere.

I am injecting two numbers into a function node using two input ports and one output port. The first input is Topic: distance and the second input is Topic: speed. Within the function node I would like to send the product (lets say) of distance*speed to the output. What is the syntax to identify both variables and perform a mathematical function on the two numbers within the function node ?

Any help would be appreciated.

Hi and welcome to the forum and to Node-RED.

Remember that Node-RED is flow based. Your two injections are completely independent so by default, the function node is triggered twice with different inputs.

To combine 2 inputs you need a temporary variable. Better to combine the inputs into 1 though. But it depends what really needs to generate those inputs which you haven't described.

Either inject all the data at once or add a change node to add the speed data to the distance data.

If for some reason you cannot combine the data, you will need to save the data to a context variable and retrieve the appropriate speed or distance when the opposing distance or speed data is input.

Hello @Trinican,

as @TotallyInformation suggested you can inject the data at once that will solve the problem.

In case you want to receive input from two inject nodes(sources) then you can use a join node to merge the two message objects (one that has distance and another one with speed) and then pass it to the function node(which will have both distance and speed). This should solve your problem.

Best,
-Ravi