Refresh tab page on opening

Newbie here. I have a Javascript/CSS clock that I wrote that works great. It takes an injected message every one second to update the time. All is good but of course there is a delay of up to one second when you open that tab, during which the hands sit as 12 noon as the clock is waiting for the next message. It's a minor thing but it does not look very polished.

Is there a way to somehow stimulate the message injection on opening the tab?

I read some threads on the ui control node and the help for the node but I'm afraid I don't know how to apply it, or if this is what is needed anyway.

Or is there a way to do this in Javascript?

Would it not be easier if the ui-template node did its own updating every second, of the time, as the code is run in the browser, not node-red injecting a message every second and sending it to the browser.
Have look at setTimeout and setInterval JS clock.

That sounds promising. Where does one put such code? Here's the ui template Angular code:

<script>
(function(scope) {
scope.$watch('msg', function(msg) {
if (msg) {
    const currentDate = new Date();
    const secondsRatio = currentDate.getSeconds() / 60;
    const minutesRatio = (secondsRatio + currentDate.getMinutes()) / 60;
    const hoursRatio = (minutesRatio + currentDate.getHours()) / 12;

document.getElementById('second'+scope.$id).style.setProperty('--rotation', secondsRatio * 360);
    document.getElementById('minute'+scope.$id).style.setProperty('--rotation', minutesRatio * 360);
    document.getElementById('hour'+scope.$id).style.setProperty('--rotation', hoursRatio * 360);
}

});
})(scope);
</script>

My current (limited) understanding is that is a lamda function, so how would I call it from a timer/interval Javascript function?

Is there some css/html with that script?