Sending data from node-red to xlsx file on windows 10

Hello, I'm still very new to Node-red and am confused on how to create a xlsx file and update it through the flow

Basically, I tried to recreate a flow from this reference

I modify the input to just a timestamp with a moment node(node-red-contrib-moment) and connect it to csv then to the file node. This is my flow:

When I deployed the flow and clicked the time stamp, there is a payload but no xlsx file was created/updated (when I manually create the file).

FYI, I use siemens IoT 2050 to connect to node-red and on windows 10 (idk if there is a difference)

I believe there might be an issue with permissions to the C-drive folder you specified, or maybe the format. Can you try a few variations, for example..

c:/file.csv or c:\\file.csv

(try a .csv first...once that works, change to .xlsx)

Just a crazy suggestion...rather than sending to Excel (once an hour, once a day, etc.), why not send to a free InfluxDB database and view it via free Grafana? I started using Node-RED for a similar task (temperature readings) and this video helped me get started with the NR+Influx+Grafana trio.

1 Like

Hi, thanks for the reply!
I tried to change the path format, the file extension, and change the path from C to my D-drive. But all that doesn't seem to work.

Thanks for the suggestion, but on this project one of the objectives that are given to me is to create a .csv or .xlsx file from the node-red. Do you mind trying my flow and see whether there is a problem? this is my flow as of now.