Status node refresh on startup

Hi,

I'm new to Node-Red so I do apologise.

I'm using node-red-contrib-simple-gate and have used the 'status' node to see if the gate is open or closed which then updates a Dashboard text field.

This works fine under normal usage and I have enabled the 'Restore from saved state' option along with file persistence and the state is preserved between deploys.

However, if I do a full restart of Node-Red or reboot the server the text field does not populate after a reboot until I interact with the gate (I have a button to toggle its status). Is there any way to force the status node to periodically refresh the status node or make it run on startup so the status is displayed without needing to interact with the gate?

Alternatively, can the 'get status of node' be replicated in a 'function'? That way I could use the inject node to trigger it just after start?

Any advice would be appreciated.

That sounds like a bug in that node that should be reported to the author. If it is restoring state OK then it should be able to set its status. If not in restore mode then it is totally valid to not be set until it receives an input.

Hi, Thanks for the quick reply. To verify I found the json file with the matching node id in ~/.node-red/context/ and it's contents is reflected (albeit after 30 seconds as expected). So it suggests I set that up correctly.

Is there a function way to replicate the status node as a work around?

How do I report bugs to node-red?

The Status cannot 'get' the status of a node - it can only report changes to the status when the node in question sets its status.

When Dave suggested it was "a bug in that node" - he was referring to node-red-contrib-simple-gate and whether that node is correctly setting its status when things restart - not a bug in the Status node.