Trigger a flow via telegram and respond with data from MQTT?

Hi!

May be this is a stupid question or I have just knots in my brain, but as I am completely new to Node Red, please forgive me my stupidness:

I have data from my 3d-Printer via MQTT in Node Red and I have a chatbot from Telegram. Both work individually. But now I'd like to output the status of my printer to telegram only, when "/status" is received via telegram.

How do I buffer the data that comes via MQTT until the "/status" - command comes in? This is what I currently have:

Thanks for your help!!

Regards, Andreas

Hello,

Given the phrasing of your question, would the node-red-contrib-simple-message-queue help you out?

I am also very new at node-red....

Bill

You can use context data to store whatever you need, then retrieve it when the /status arrives.

https://nodered.org/docs/user-guide/context

I was about to say this.

Just connect the mqtt node to a change node, store the payload into a context variable.
When requesting the /status, get the context variable and display it.

Or, if you want to avoid the use of context data (which can make it more difficult to follow the flow) then use a Join node in key/value mode to join the mqtt value with the telegram data and then every time a new message comes in you will be able to take appropriate action.

thanks to you all!

@Steve-Mcl and bakman2 : perfect, that is what I was searching for... (not only for this task)

@Colin : you are right, context makes things more difficult to understand, but I don't get how your proposal with the join node will work:
When new MQTT data arrives and /status is not triggered, then the following function evaluates to do nothing.
Then /status arrives, the function starts to output the last MQTT data, because it is still in the message object.
Then new MQTT data arrives. What is the state of the /status - isn't it still active? and therefore the function node creates an output?