Turn the whole flow on or off using telegram bot

I am trying to turn my flow on/off using telegram bot, I have tried several things but none of them worked so far..
My project is some kind of alarm that sends a message when the PIR sensor detects movement. I tried using an AND gate so that when I send "/on" the pir sensor would be able to detect and when i send "/off" the pir sensor wouldn't do anything.
However, when I send the command ("/on" or "/off"), it just passes the AND gate and sets my system to high causing it to send me a message.

Basically i am trying to set my system to stand by with /on and off with /off.
I dont want the pir sensor to constantly detect movement when im home ofcourse...

Any suggestions?
I know this is probably a dumb question, but i'm a noob at node-red :slight_smile:

First off, you don't want to turn the 'flow' off because how would you turn it back on if it was off?

What you want to do is prevent a portion of your flow from executing if the /off has been received, so why not save the state of the on/off in a flow variable (you can do this in a change node) and then in the PIR code, only pass the PIR value if the flow variable is 'on'

So I won't be needing the AND gate then? Or do I get this wrong?

And how exactly should I save the state?

It might be simpler to use node-red-contrib-simple-gate which blocks or allow messages through based on control messages that you send it. When you receive a message from telegram use Switch and/or change Nodes to set the appropriate control message and pass it to the gate. No need to save things in the context.

1 Like

I would have one flow that listened for the temegtaph message and stored the value in a flow context variable (see https://nodered.org/docs/user-guide/context).

Next I would have the air send it's msg to a seitch node which would check the flow context variable and only forward the msg to the rest of that flow it the variable was 'on'. No AND gate needed.

3 Likes