"TypeError: Cannot create property '_msgid' on string

Sorry but I am very new to Node Red and struggling a bit. I got the above error on a function node trying to store an IP address to a variable. I am using a text node to capture the IP address from the user on my dashboard.
Here is the code in the function node. Any help is greatly appreciated.
var address = msg.payload;
return address;

Hi @mikemassey1968

Your code is returning just current value of msg.payload, which is presumably is a String.

Function nodes need to return message objects, not individual values. By convention, nodes will use msg.payload - so if that's where you already have the IP address, that's probably the right place for it to be. The question is what you want to do with it next.

Worth reading https://nodered.org/docs/writing-functions if you haven't already.

Nick

That is where it gets even harder for me. i am trying to supplement a variable (flow level) into a json payload in place of hard coding the IP address. The dashboard I am writing talks to an industrial controller and the dashboard could be used at many different locations so the IP address of the device needs to be updated after installation.
here is an example of the json payload and where I would like to use the variable in place of a hard coded IP address:
{"tlps":[[66,0,37, 1]], "host":"10.0.0.2", "port":4000, "deviceAddress":240, "deviceGroup":240}
The payload above works but what I would like to do is make this more dynamic like:
{"tlps":[[66,0,37, 1]], "host":"address", "port":4000, "deviceAddress":240, "deviceGroup":240}

Probably also worth reading https://nodered.org/docs/user-guide/messages

Thank you I will look at it again. Also the link form Nick above. Something is not sinking in for me but a reread never hurts.

What I have not mentioned is the need to store the IP Address in the variable "address" at the flow level. I understand I should be able to do this with the following code