UI Builder form

Hi. I'm new with Node-Red and I'm trying to make a UI using the uibuilder node. The idea is the user gives some parameters, which should be processed in the flow afterwards and then the user could get an answer calculated according to the parameters given. Doing the form itself is not a big deal, but I'm struggling with taking the data submitted from the input fields of the form into the flow, 'cause I really don't know how to do it. Any advice or idea is welcome. Thanks.

Hi there, thanks for trying out uibuilder. If you check the uibuilder WIKI, you will find some examples. For instance, this example using MoonJS as a front-end library has a simple input field on it and you could build from there.

Basically, sending data back from the front-end to Node-RED is very simple.

You will need some JavaScript to monitor for changes in your form - standard stuff and will depend on what front-end helper library you are using (if any).

When you detect a change in the form or the user presses a button or whatever trigger you want, you then use the uibuilder.send(<msgObject>) function.

The contents of the msgObject is exactly what you'd expect in Node-RED itself. Typically something including {topic:"my topic", payload:"my payload"} but it doesn't have to be that - whatever you are comfortable processing back in Node-RED will work just fine.

Back in Node-RED, the top output from the uibuilder node will receive the returned data. Note that uibuilder adds a client ID which you need to retain. Process that output and, when you've updated the info, feed it back into the uibuilder input again. The client ID makes sure that the data only ever goes back to the correct client.

Hi Julian,