Unusually High CPU Usage on Raspberry Pi 3 at Startup

Hi

I have successfully installed and run Node-RED on many Raspberry Pi systems to date, however my latest install has shown strange CPU activity at start-up.

Following start-up of a clean system build, with no other programmes, no extra nodes and no flows, initially top shows node-red ~200% CPU and 7.0% MEM then after around four minutes it drops to 0.0% CPU and 7.0% MEM. The same high / low sequence occurs every time the system is booted up.

Hardware : Raspberry Pi 3 Model B Plus Rev 1.3
Node-RED Core : 3.1.0
Node : v18.18.0
Npm : 9.8.1

the image was flashed using Raspberry Pi Imager v1.7.4 (I have tried with both HDD and SD - same result).

Installation sequence from new image:

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade
sudo reboot now
bash <(curl -sL https://raw.githubusercontent.com/node-red/linux-installers/master/deb/update-nodejs-and-nodered)
sudo systemctl enable nodered.service
sudo reboot now

I am no expert, but syslog does not seem to show any issues. A filtered dump using COMMAND=Node-RED looks normal to me...

Oct 10 13:04:52 Apollo systemd[1]: Started Node-RED graphical event wiring tool.
Oct 10 13:04:57 Apollo Node-RED[359]: 10 Oct 13:04:57 - [info]
Oct 10 13:04:58 Apollo Node-RED[359]: Welcome to Node-RED
Oct 10 13:04:58 Apollo Node-RED[359]: ===================
Oct 10 13:04:58 Apollo Node-RED[359]: 10 Oct 13:04:57 - [info] Node-RED version: v3.1.0
Oct 10 13:04:58 Apollo Node-RED[359]: 10 Oct 13:04:57 - [info] Node.js version: v18.18.0
Oct 10 13:04:58 Apollo Node-RED[359]: 10 Oct 13:04:57 - [info] Linux 6.1.21-v7+ arm LE
Oct 10 13:05:01 Apollo Node-RED[359]: 10 Oct 13:05:01 - [info] Loading palette nodes
Oct 10 13:05:05 Apollo Node-RED[359]: 10 Oct 13:05:05 - [info] Settings file : /home/pi/.node-red/settings.js
Oct 10 13:05:05 Apollo Node-RED[359]: 10 Oct 13:05:05 - [info] Context store : 'default' [module=memory]