Use Switch to show current state

Hello everyone! I'm new to NodeRED and I'm having trouble to use the switch node to show the current state of my variables.

Here is the deal, I'm trying to automate the lights of a warehouse controlled by a PLC with a HMI. If someone turn on/off the light on the PLC's HMI, I want my switch node to change to the on or off position accordingly.
I'm able to turn on/off the lights using nodeRED just fine, so this part is ok.

I used a input node to get the events from my Python MQTT publisher then I have my switch and then an output node sending the commands to my Python Subscriber.
I have a topic to the events, where I suppose the events of the HMI will be sent to NodeRED and I have another topic to commands, where NodeRED can send the commands to turn on/off the lights and whatosever.

Oh! I'm using nodeRED hosted at IBM Cloud.

I appreciate if someone could shed some light!

Thanks a lot!

Is there a topic you can subscribe to to get the current state of the light? If so then pick that up and if necessary use a Switch (not ui-switch) and Change nodes to set the payload to exactly the same values that the ui-switch is configured to output and feed that into the ui-switch. Make sure message pass through is not enabled in the ui node or you will get an mqtt loop.

Hello Colin! Thanks for answering me!
This makes perfectly sense! Yes, I have a topic to get the current state, it's called 'switchevt'. My Input node is getting this string {"lamp1":"1","lamp2":"0","comp1":"0"} , saying that my lamp1 is on.
So I've used the Switch node (the yellow one) and set the property to msg.payload and then set 3 outputs:
contains: lamp1 -> 1
contains: lamp2 ->2
contaisn: comp1 ->3

Each output of the Switch node is connected to a Change node, but could you help me to create the rule?
The output of my UI-Switch nodes are:
Switch 1 On payload {"lamp1":"1"}
Switch 1 On payload {"lamp1":"0"}

Switch 2 On payload {"lamp1":"1"}