Ways to power a large series of Wemos D1 mini boards

Hi folks,

Some members of the community have guided me through the decision tree for buying my first wemo D1 mini boards.

I am now wondering what is the best way to power them. I have to install LOTs of these little bastards in my house and garden, and I have not the intention to start running the remaining of my miserable life to replace batteries ;-). Unless somebody has a good battery based solution of course...

If I need to install power wires to a large series of such devices, I assume one ore more central power supplies is the best way to go? Would be nice to get some advises and tips for things I should take into account. Because at longer distances (e.g. in my garden) I assume there will be voltage drops, I need to secure the power supply if I accidentally create a short wire, and so on ...

I have no experience at all with this, so all real life experiences and advises are welcome!

Thanks and have a nice weekend!!
Bart

Just a simple mains to 5V adapter works fine - like the ones for older mobile phones.
This is what I purchase here in the UK.

If the location where you are going to use the Wemos D1 Mini hasn't got any mains outlets, then you'll need a battery-pack of some sort or another. Then you are going to have problems as the Wemos takes quite a bit of energy when it transmits via WiFi.
You can put the Wemos into DeepSleep, which is what I do with my weather stations, to conserve energy.
You then hit the question of how often do you want to take a pressure reading as that determines the sleep time and how long the battery will last before it needs charging.

Why is life never easy?????

2 Likes

I use either old phone chargers. Everything from 500ma up is fine. Simple easy and the unused power bricks get a usefull second life :wink:

Or I use one of these modules: Available from many suppliers. I use them for the more permanent installations.