What is the usefulness of Node Red?

Hi there,

I'm a beginner and trying to decide whether Node Red will be useful in my project. I have gone through the overview and a few demos on youtube to see how Node Red is used, but I think I don't know enough to understand why Node Red is still useful.

I would appreciate if anyone could help me out here in understanding this!

I think Node Red is a way of connecting multiple things (nodes) together in a 'flow' to work together.

What would a traditional way of doing this be? If let's say a website speaking to a database, you will just write server-side code for the server to execute and return data when it is told, and set up CRON jobs to automate the sending of emails for example. Database connection, cleaning of data, sending and retrieving of data is done on the server side. How would Node Red be useful in this case?

Node-RED is most useful in the following cases in my view:

• Rapid Prototyping. When you need to be fast and flexible, Node-RED is great as it lets you manipulate the logic without having to redo large chunks of code.

• Limited Programming Knowledge. If your knowledge of programming is limited, again, Node-RED is great because it does a lot of heavy lifting for you. You don't need to worry about how your code will be run. Nor do you need to worry about all the boilerplate code that you normally need for an application.

• Flexibility. This is why many of us use it for home automation and is related to the first point. It helps you follow the logic very quickly without having to wade through lots of code. It lets you change round the logic very quickly.

• Laziness. It has loads of extensions that make many tasks very easy because someone else already did the hard work for you. Dashboard is a great example. It is so easy to create a data driven user interface that you can do something basic in seconds.

However, it is less useful in some cases too: