I'm fairly new to NR
I have an MQTT input in the form:
object
endpoint: object
serial_number: "a4c138101b95ec05"
payload: object
temperature: object
temperature: 18.209999
I've created a number 'helper' in Home Assistant. I think it's just a float.
If I try to sent that payload to my helper I get an error:

Call-service error. required key not provided @ data['value']

I'm guessing I just need to parse the object and extract the value and then change it to say data: value

What nodes would you guys use to extract that number?

Edited to add: The formatting I put in disappeared on post.

I don't use HA, but I think its a change node you are looking for ?

Yes, unfortunately that makes it impossible to give you a straight answer. To post code or data in the forum you have to use the </> button. It wraps the code between two lines each containing 3 back ticks.

The debug node has a "Copy path" button at the right of your data. Use a change node to move this path (msg.payload.temperature.temperature, or whatever) to msg.payload.

What is a "Number helper?"
Home assistant does seem weird :confused: the phrase "call-service" gives no hint what it does

Thanks, I will experiment with a change node later. I don’t think I even looked at that node.

Yes the documentation for helpers is quite poor. I use “toggle” helpers and they are just booleans that can easily be displayed in the dashboard. This is my first experiment with numbers. I’m not even sure it’s a float and not an integer. There are more types of “helper” than basic data types so their must be some overlap. I think they maybe display differently but I haven’t experimented.

Any idea what this means:
Call-service error. required key not provided @ data['value']

With a change node I now have the number in msg.payload. Thanks to your tip I found it was at "payload.payload.temperature.temperature". Never would have guessed there were 2 payloads but still get an error. Have tried moving it to msg.payload.data