When to start if need to be on time - Time Calc

Hi there, i hope you are all fine and healthy.

I am struggling with time calculation.
I am sure it is possible to do, but as im new to nodered I am really not sure how to start.

Let me explain, I need to be at work at 8 AM. I would like to set up a light, which is indicating when I should leave for work to be on time.
I have a Waze Travel Time sensor for the duration I will need.

So, I need to calculate the current time plus the travel time, if it is before 8am, light is green, if it will be between 8 and 8.10 it will be orange etc.

I am not sure how to realize this, can someone help here ?

(of course there will be more, light on only during work days and only in the morning etc. )

Thanks for the help here.

Hi Crey, welcome to the forum!

So the first thing you should is spend an hour and watch the Node-RED Essentials videos. This will be time well spent.

Next start small and build up. Figure out how to get the data from the Waze Travel Time sensor (if you need help, you should provide a link to it's documentation ot the full name of the node you have found that will send the data. I, for one, have never heard about that before)

Next attach a debug node (set to display the 'Complete msg object') to it so you can see the data coming.

Next you need to know how to test the time. A great resourse there is doing a google search using 'javascript time calculations'. Again use debug nodes to see what you come up with.

Once you have the logic working, you can work on the part of lighting the lights - however you haven't given any information on what hardware you will use and that brings me to another peice of advice.