Xampp node-red-node-mysql increased resources use

Hi all,

I am new in node-red and try to use it as a SCADA tool.
I am reading from PLCs and based on options I am writing into database (XAMPP).
The problem is that the process "mysqld.exe" starts to use lots of pc resources when doing a data manipulation like in the next picture

Memory keeps still at 984.8MB and CPU goes from 0% (when not querying) to 76.1% (when querying).
I am also attaching one of my flows

I also noticed that even a simple query from localhost/phpmyadmin takes longer now...

Do you know what I am doing wrong here?
Can someone help me? I can offer more info, if you ask for and also tell me how to do it :slight_smile:

I am using node v16.14.0, npm v8.5.4 and node-red-node-mysql v1.0.1

Thanks for trying to help me!

What query are you running from node red, and how often? If it is a select query, how many records does it return?

This is a common problem with relational databases when the table has lots of data and incorrect indexes for the query.

If you dont quite understand what that means, then look into using a mysql profiler to analyse your query. It will suggest what indexes are necessary (and some even update the table for you)

Lastly, it looks like you are running x86 (32bit) mysql instead of x64 (64 bit) mysql?

Thanks @Colin for your question.

In the above flow, I have the following:

1. query of 20 records - every 20 seconds
  2. query based on criteria => unknown number of records (maximum 100)
    2.1 every record from 2. is being updated and for every record also an 2 inserts are done
  3. insert query
    2., 2.1, 3. are done based on PLC variable changes
    In my php scripts after a query I close the connection. I do not know if node-red-node-mysql does that or if this is one of the problems...

@Steve-Mcl thanks for trying to help.
Below you can see my table

How can I improve it more?
Regarding the version of xampp, I will try to upgrade it soon.