[Announce] Yet Another Gauge

By exploring wild web lately for new trends I found some nice gauges with bare minimum design. I decided to make similar gauges available for dashboard.

Sometimes you'll need only few lines to say thousand words.

17 Likes

Really nice. Another great contribution to Node-RED community.

Interesting to see that it is based on GSAP. I will have to allocate time in my agenda to learn this awesome library.

Thanks a lot !

2 Likes

GSAP - what's the license on that ?

That part is free
https://greensock.com/standard-license/

Nice work! :slightly_smiling_face:

On the license part, I wonder if it's compatible with the MIT license of your node.

The link you provided states, it's "free" for commercial or non-commercial use, but only as long as you don't charge end users.

I'm no lawyer or license expert, but I think it would be a good idea to mention it somewhere on the README page that the lib uses a different license that might clash with commercial applications. :thinking: :grin:

I will definitely try it out on my Dashboard at home though, the only thing I charge myself with is my free time. :grin:

2 Likes

Same for me. If things went wrong, I will remove it and try to find another solution.
Just let me know. :slight_smile:

Definitely recommend you highlight the license of the library you are using in your node's readme.

There's nothing wrong using it in line with the license, but the "no-commercial usage" clause will definitely put some users off and best they know that up front.

2 Likes

With version patch updated the readme (+ smarter icon position). Happily take all advises to improve wording specially for legal stuff.

Nice looking gauge, but the radial gauge isn't working for me - it isn't drawing the line. I have tried different sizes, and it makes no difference:

In linear mode (all other params the same) it displays like this:

I am using dashboard version 2.19.4 and node-red 1.0.4