Assistance with Creating a Custom Node for Real-Time Data Processing

Hello Everyone :hugs:,

I’ve been working on a project where I’m using Node-RED to process real-time data streams from multiple IoT sensors. The flow involves receiving data, performing some transformations, and then pushing the results to a dashboard for visualization. So far, I’ve been able to manage this using standard nodes, but as the project grows more complex, I’m finding that I need a more custom solution to handle specific processing logic.

I’m thinking of developing a custom node to better manage my real-time data processing needs. However, this is my first time attempting to create a custom Node-RED node, and I’m a bit stuck on where to start.

Here are a few specific questions I have:

1. Initial Setup: What are the best practices for setting up the development environment for creating a new Node-RED node? Any recommended tools or workflows?
  2. Logic Implementation: How can I integrate JavaScript functions for data processing within the custom node? Is there a way to reuse existing JavaScript code that I’ve already developed in Node-RED, or should everything be re-implemented inside the custom node?
  3. Packaging and Deployment: Once the custom node is created, how do I package it properly for deployment within a Node-RED instance, especially if I intend to share it with others? :thinking:
  1. Debugging Tips: Any suggestions for debugging custom nodes during development? I’ve used the built-in Node-RED debug node extensively but wonder if there are more advanced gen ai techniques I should explore.

I’d greatly appreciate any advice or resources that the community could provide. Thanks in advance for your help!