Balancing ease of use with features?

As I get further along in my first real contrib-node project that isn't just for my personal learning or a proof-of-concept. I'm now faced with the question, "How do I keep my node from becoming overly complex for some users, particularly beginners using a low code platform, while still providing powerful features to experienced developers"?

I've been receiving some solid feedback on feature requests for the first time, but I'm a little uncertain on how I would like to proceed. What strategies do the rest of you employ? Would it be better to try to split it into multiple nodes with limited features each, or maintain it as a single node? What other options might I have that I am unaware of?

Sorry if these are not very good questions, I'm entirely self taught so sometimes I struggle in unfamiliar territory.

1 Like

Hi @HaroldPetersInskipp

Nothing wrong with the question at all, its the answers that might not be right.
My answers may differ from others - but that's almost the point I will make, it's really down to the goals of your project.

• Is it for those who can understand complex environments
  • Is it for those that need big colourful buttons
  • Best of both worlds

Don't be afraid to withhold feature requests, if it's not inline with the goals of your project. I have declined many feature requests that don't suite or will taint the goals of my projects.

If feature requests that you would like to implement, may be to difficult to understand by most end users, then maybe add Nodes for advanced users - or build your nodes in a way, that allows users to easily switch to 'god mode' if they so wish.

And most importantly, sound documentation/examples of features are a must! - I use GitHub Wiki for that.

2 Likes

I don't believe there is a single right answer to that. Personally, I prefer to minimise the number of nodes - but only so far. If a set of features stands separate from the main node, then it gets a new node.