Guidelines and design principles for Node-RED users

Hello everyone, a Node-RED newbie here.
I can't say if what I'll post is reasonable or not, but I'll give it a try.

My goal is to formulate a list of guidelines based on best practices, common design principles (e.g., separation of concerns) and patterns, to be followed by (novel) users approaching Node-RED. Some design principles may be taken from the Flow Based Programming (FBS) paradigm, but yet I have found none. Concerning design patterns, I have found the following page quite interesting (maybe just a bit outdated): https://medium.com/node-red/node-red-design-patterns-893331422f42

Driven by your experience, what would you suggest to (not) do when using Node-RED in a very general scenario? For instance:

• Do you logically organize your implementation in terms of flows/browser tabs, e.g. a tab for each device communication, or you just put everything together within a single flow/tab?
  • Would you recommend using global variables in any case? Is there a more preferable way to exchange data among unwired nodes?
  • When would you prefer using function nodes instead of more specific ones (e.g., change node)?
  • Do you always give meaningful names to nodes and messages properties? Are your flows self-documented in a way that just by reading the nodes names you understand what a specific flow does?
  • Have you personally decided a lower/upper bound in the number of nodes each flow should contain?
  • What is an acceptance number of wires entering/leaving a node pin? Is it ok for you to have bottleneck flows?

These are just some few questions and I know that cover any scenario is impossible, but still I would like to have your suggestions and opinions.

Thank you

3 Likes

Hi, some interesting questions and there is always room for more helpful information.