Basic concept - what is a Flow

Hi, newbie here.
Just started with node-red. followed the instructions and it seems pretty easy to get started. but I am confused with a few things, particularly the "flow".
in the editor, you can have multiple tabs at the top (workspace?). by default, they are named "Flow 1", "Flow 2", etc. as such, I am assuming each tab represents a flow.
then on each tab, you can have multiple independent "workflows" -- each can be started with its own input node.
when we talk about "flow", which one are we talking about? the "flow" tab, or the "workflow"s?
after deploying, i am assuming all "workflow"s on the same tab are running. how about all the tabs (Flows)? are they all running as well (including the ones not directly visible)?
thanks.
sm

There are a number if overused terms in Node-RED and one of those is flow.

For me a flow is a linked number of nodes to perform a task.
Personally I just think of the tabs as tabs as you’ve already found a tab can have more than one independent flows. I generally rename my tabs to describe what the flows on that tab are doing.

All flows on all tabs are generally “running” although some may require an input (eg pressing the inject button) for the flow to work.

... and as node.js (the application Node-RED runs on) - is single threaded... although they look like separate "flows" - they are all sharing the same cpu process so there is only one thing running at a time. And as we save them all in one single file... - the overall set of flows running is also called a flow :-).... But yes - it's an overloaded term.

thanks for the clarifications. so conceptually, all "workflows", continue with my own vocabulary, are running (many waiting for inputs - click) in a global space. no boundary exists between the "Flow 1", "Flow 2", flows. If that's the case, I guess the purpose of the "Flow" tabs are just for visual organization only. Could've stated right in the beginning of the intro.
thanks again.
sm

Not quite.