Basic but important questions

Hello,
I have read a lot about Node-RED and about its importance in IoT projects. I am going to use on my Raspberry server where Homebridge and MQTT servers are already running.

I understood all about programming and flows (I am a Python programmer).

However there are a couple of points that are not clear to me.

First, is what happens then when a flow has been written and deployed? Whats does deploy mean? Shall it be compiled and run as a stand alone software or? (always in a Raspberry environment).

For instance I want to get some values from MQTT and publish then somewhere. What shall I do after having written the flow?

Second question, this time in an HomeBridge environment. How can I integrate/import Node-RED flows into Homebridge?

For instance I want to create a new accessory called Toggle Switch that switches on an existing accessory if it is off and switches it off if it already on.

How shall I combine Node-RED with Homebridge?

Thanks for the clarifications,
Dan

Node-red it is not standalone but runs on the nodejs runtime (server based javascript engine).

When you deploy the flow is not being compiled, but more like re-initialised/instantiated and it is written in a "flows" file (which describes the type of nodes, location on the screen and it configuration).

Homebridge also runs on nodejs, but is a separate program, there is no such thing as "importing into homebridge" - it is more like working in conjunction with homebridge.

To simplify the concept of node-red: if you want "incompatible" devices to talk to eachother, you can use node-red to handle the translation/transcribing/executing of messages/events/actions. It is like a extremely powerful glue and sits in the middle (and definitely not only for IoT).

To use node-red with homebridge I would definitely recommend homebridge-mqtt and remove most (if not all) devices from homebridge and use homebridge-mqtt exclusively