Before I start questions

Usual preamble. I am not a programmer.

Have spent just over an hour reading threads here, the uibuilder wiki and the projects GitHub many pages and cant find an answer to this question....

Is uibuilder multiuser aware?

My main pain point with the Node-RED dashboard is my search page. If one person searches, everyone sees their results and if another person does a search before the previous one is done reading their results, that person then does their search again, over riding the... yeah, its a useless mess.

From what I can gather reading the uibuilder pages, this is still going to be an issue. Not only, but worse, it seems that using uibiulder I will need to write Node-RED code to individually handle every users search data?

Looking to replace the Node-RED dashboard, but want to be sure, be VERY sure, that the new solution will remove as many current pain points as possible.

Thanks.

Drum-roll please ......... "kind of"!

uibuilder is capable of being multi-user that's for sure.

There are both ExpressJS and Socket.IO middleware hooks for example that let you hook in server-side logic which can include user/session handling.

In addition, since there is a control message for connecting and disconnecting clients, you can build logic flows to handle user identification, authentication and authorisation.

And if you try out the vNext branch, you will see that I've added some additional capabilities to support this more easily. Notably including the client IP address in control messages and giving each client (a web browser window/tab) a unique identifier that is independent of the socketId (which is reset if you reload the page or have a temporary loss of connection).

Even before vNext, I know that there are people who have implemented multi-user web apps using uibuilder.

And of course, you could also put a reverse proxy in place to handle identification, authentication and authorisation.