Beginner - array and declaring variables

Hi Everyone,

I am new to this.

Just after some advice or direction on how to do this.

What I'm trying to achieve - I have a flow that runs on a time trigger -> extracts data from a database -> formats that data from the database -> emails out a report to users of that data. So to email out a daily report of automated doors battery levels, so that i know when they need to be replaced.

trigger (daily time trigger) -> SQL Database extraction -> function to format data from SQL Extraction-> email out a report

The sql database pumps out an array object to the function, I didn't want to hard code anything because the size of the array can change daily due to the database SQL query results so I need to somehow declare the variables for formatting from the sql query (array object).

I am trying to declare variables from each array object every time the flow runs.

i decided i could try and achieve it through a forloop to go through each element but not sure on how to do this.

im not a coder so please be gentle :stuck_out_tongue:

see image and code example below. (EDITED, added the email format function)

SQL Extraction query is simple:

SELECT TOP (20) [id_lock]
      ,[name]
      ,[Description]
      ,[Battery]
  FROM [BATTERY_RW].[dbo].[BP_Locks]  where Battery < 11 order by Battery asc

Here is an example of data extraction from SQL query that I'm working with.

[{"id_lock":1271,"name":"Front Door 1","Description":"Front Door Battery Lock","Battery":10},{"id_lock":1249,"name":"Side Door 2","Description":"Side Door Battery Lock","Battery":3},{"id_lock":1177,"name":"Back Door 3","Description":"Back Door Battery Lock","Battery":5}]

then this is the function that formats the data:

var counter = msg.payload.length;
msg.topic = "CRITICAL - Low Door Battery Report";
msg.from = "Node-Red-Door-Batteries@Reports.com";

for (var i=0; i < counter; i++)
{