Beginner's problem: No connection to MQTT

Hi,

I'm quite new to node red and just tried to get a MQTT connection running without success. I entered the ip address and username/password and a topic as well. However, after deploying there's no "connected"-indicator below the MQTT node and it doesn't receive any values.

When I enter the same information in MQTT fx, everything works fine.
I tried this with 2 MQTT-servers (running on raspis).
Do you have any ideas what I could try?

Node red version is 1.2.9. Here's some additional info. I don't really know what it means, but it was asked for in a simular topic and might be helpful.

(sorry)

Hang on. I posted too soon.

Could you show a screen shot of you sending a MQTT message from the terminal?

I am not seeing that.

I'm not sure that is going to help you and/or the problem.

What you should be able to do is open a terminal and enter something like:

mosquitto_sub -h (ip address) -t (topic)

Then from another terminal - same machine to start with.

mosquitto_pub -h (ip address) -t (topic) -m (message)

Do you see the message?

I'm not really sure what you mean (all this is still very new to me...) but here's what I did:

Looks like I'm not authorised like this?

Welcome to the forum @Ursusprimus.

Are you using the latest version of node-red (1.2.9)? I think there were some issues with MQTT a little while ago that have been fixed. It may not be the problem here but worth upgrading first just in case.

Yes, I have version 1.2.9

If you are using security stuff, it won't be as simple as I showed you. But I can't say if you are or not.

Search how to send message from the terminal over MQTT and get that part working first.

The answer is kind of there. You do seem to be using keys/security.

So you will have to enter the key as well. I haven't tried that, but it isn't too difficult.

Try this link. Scroll down a bit and look for password/keys

1 Like

It is odd that the status is not showing at all.