BLE Peripheral Simulation

Hi everyone,
I'm new to Node-RED and interested in sports sensors e.g heart rate, cadence, power etc. I have tried various tools to try and create a BLE device based on inputs from other sensors. I have got an example heart rate sensor flow working using the noble-red-contrib-noble-bluetooth library:

and managed to write the live value to a global variable:
global.set("gvBPM",bpm);
..which I initialised in a separate flow:
( image removed as there's a 2-image limit for new users ! )

What I'd like to do is create a BLE Peripheral node which simply emits the global variable. I can't find an example flow anywhere that does only that. I've saved my Polar OH1 sensor here:

but what would be cool is to be able to use that as a template ( with a new MAC address ? ) so you've got all the placeholders for each service and characteristic.

If someone can show my just a simple how to advertise the primary characteristics ( heart rate measurement + battery level ) then that would be awesome.

Once I've done this I have a slightly bigger project in mind - it's just getting off the ground that's always the tricky bit :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance for helping,

Martin

I am not sure if I understand your question completely. Do you want to make a BLE peripheral that advertises the heart rate, cadence information? If you want to do it from scratch, then you are going to face a big challenge. You need to get a BLE development kit such as nrf52840 DK, then download its SDK and write your C codes. Fortunately, there are quite some examples on the heart rate sensor already.

A faster and easier way is to get a heart rate BLE sensor off the market. You should be able to decipher the advertisement message from the BLE sensor.

Hi David,
That board seems to do everything :slight_smile: I've been playing with ANT+ too and it does that so have bookmarked this one.