Calculate time difference - hass.io

Hi,

I am really new to node-red and json etc so sorry if my question seems trivial. This is my first try with a function node!

I am currently setting up a notification that will tell me if an entity has been unavailable more than one minute. In order to not to complicate things I look for a state change and verify that the previous state was unavailable and that the new state is not unavailable.

I can the look at the message which gives me information about when the state change to unavailable (old_state) and when it changed to anything that is not unavailable (new_state). I would now like to calculate the time difference.

The format of the time when the state changed is as follows:
old_state: "2019-02-25T08:57:24.387431+00:00"
new_state: "2019-02-25T08:57:26.326909+00:00"

I would like to calculate the time difference in seconds. If the time difference is more than 60 seconds I want to pass on a message with the payload that includes the entity_id and the time difference). I will then base a notification on this information. My intention is to use a function node. My attempt so far looks like this:

var timediff = 0
timediff = (msg.payload.event.new_state.last_changed) - (msg.payload.event.old_state.last_changed);
if (msg1 > 60){
    return (msg.payload.entity_id, timediff)
}

I guess this is hopelessly wrong and therefore I need your help.

First thing is that you should alway return an object.

i.e. return msg; which is why it is autofilled in when you open a function node :slight_smile:

Ok - so an else and then return an object that I can then use to prevent the next step in the flow.

Also I imagine you wanted timediff > 60 and note the timestamps in javascript are in milliseconds.
If you want to prevent the next step in the flow then don't return anything and it will not pass on a message.