Calculate time difference

Hey, how can I calculate the difference between two time inputs. Thanks

It sort of depends on what style of time those nodes are outputting.

Irrespective of what you see, the nodes can output in a few different ways.
I'm hoping they are timestamp format. Then they are simply numbers.

How much have you used node-red?
How good are you with it? eg: Importing nodes
Do you mind using foreign (non-standard) nodes?

I am new to node red .. I didn't mean how timestamp format mean :sweat_smile:
I am looking for any kind of solution that allow me to calculate the difference between two times in the form (HH:MM). Thanks

No problems.

I just wanted to check what you were wanting to do.

Alas the easiest way is to put the times into a timestamp format. That is that they are magic numbers that can be used easily.

Alas this will need some foreign nodes to be used.

First off: Put a debug node on the output of one of the nodes and show what it gets when you press the button.

(If posting a screen shot, please crop so the debug output is the main part of the picture.)

(Sorry)

Although you are talking HH:MM stuff, it becomes difficult - not impossible - to calculate.
It depends on how you want to do it.

At the base level, there is a magic number for every millisecond since a specific date.
Somewhat overkill for what you are doing I know, but this is where I am going with why I am mentioning it.

When you use the node you used and enter the HH:MM values, the computer sees that very differently to how you see it.

I have tried to use that node for that thing and had no end of problems.

But the reasoning behind what I am saying is that rather than outputting some HH:MM format you output a very specific number which is for that which you input.

Then it is merely a task of taking one away from the other.

I tried to make an example flow but as said: I have had nothing but problems when I wanted to do just that.

So I can't help you much more than this.