Combining Messages

Hello all,

I'm new to Node-RED and Java Script programming, so maybe there is a trivial solution to my problem, but I could not find anything yet.

I would like to retrieve data from my Loxone smart home "Miniserver" and log some data to an InfluxDB.
The general flow is working, but for storing meaningful data, I would like to combine message contents.

For example, the "Comfort Temperature" is sent by Loxone in the following format:

payload: 22
topic: "Temperature Sleeping Room"
state: "comfortTemperature"
room: "Sleeping Room"
category: "Heating"

Additionally, the allowed tolerance to this Temperature is sent seperately in another message:

payload: 0.5
state: "comfortTolerance"

Instead of "comfortTemperature" and "comfortTolerance", I would like to store the actual range, e.g.

payload: 21.5
state: "comfortMin"

and

payload: 22.5
state: "comfortMax"

Therefore, I would like to store "comfortTemperature" and "comfortTolerance" for each "topic" to some data structure in the context and send the new messages once both values are received / changed.

Is there a way to store data referenced by a string?
Something like

context.set(comforttemp[msg.topic],msg.payload);

?

The way I do this is with the JOIN node configured in manual node to output the joined messages as an array of message objects.

Then I write a FUNCTION node to process that array as required.

I have some doubt my method is "the best way" to do this but it works flawlessly for me.

Hope this helps.

Alternatively use the join node in key/value pairs mode, which I prefer. If you look in the node red cookbook there is a description of how to do this under the heading Joining Streams if I remember correctly.

Top, thanks a lot, that helped me a lot to find a solution! :slight_smile:

You are welcome, @stefan.

Glad to have helped you in some small way.

There is still one issue left.

I have used the join node and configured it to send when 2 messages are received.