Confused about MQTT > InfluxDB

I'm new to InfluxDB, but it seems to me there's a bit of a conflict between Node-RED/MQTT's messaging structure and InfluxDB's "measurement" concept in that the former wants to be atomic while the latter expects multiple (related) values in the same message. Take as an example, some basic system parameters, such as load average, memory usage and disk usage. In Node-RED these are typically treated as separate messages, and MQTT recommends they are separate topics. But when I pass these values to InfluxDB I instincively want to put them in the same "table" (or "measurement"), under different "tags" and "keys". This part of my MQTT topic tree looks like this:

sentinel/nodered/status
sentinel/system/loadaverage
sentinel/system/memusage
sentinel/system/uptime
sentinel/system/diskusage
sentinel/system/temperature
sentinel/system/fan 

The "measurement" would here be "sentinel", the "tags" "part"="system", and the "key" "temperature" (for example). But this doesn't seem to be a good plan - the messages arrive at different times so have to be inserted individually, resulting in a very sparse looking database, since each "row" will always have all "columns" ("keys").

> select * from sentinel
name: sentinel
time                fan loadaverage memusage part    status   temperature
----                --- ----------- -------- ----    ------   -----------
1568071466000000000                          nodered deployed 
1568071525000000000                          system           29.9
1568071525000000000     0.42                 system           
1568071525000000000                 94.0     system           
1568071525000000000 0                        system           

Am I going down the wrong path here?

You could just feed all your MQTT feeds into one function node that updates a node context for each message and then writes all the node context values to the database each time

That would populate your database fully

1 Like