Custom style for element <p>

I have a general question regarding styles. I have a couple of text fields I want to customize in terms of style. So this works like that in a template element:

<p style="font-weight: 500; font-size: larger; color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.5) !important; background-color: transparent !important;">My Text</p>

To avoid changing multiple elements, when for instance I want to change to color, I wanted to move that style to a central definition and refer it. Therefor a have added a a template (to the head section) and added the following:

<style>
	 .custom_group_section {
		font-weight: 500; 
		font-size: larger; 
		color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.5) !important; 
		background-color: transparent !important;
	 }
</style>

and then inside the text element and tried:

<p style="custom_group_section">My Text</p>

as well as

<p class="custom_group_section">My Text</p>

But both doesn't work. I am no html expert, can somebody give me a hint how to define such a central style correctly and refer it in a generic element?

Hi

This is not valid (only style attributes go in the style tag)

This is correct

Likely due to specificity. There are already styles applied to all dashboard elements (provided by the dashboard) however your elements class selector .custom_group_section is probably less specific than the built in styles dashboard provides.

Try adding more specificity in the CSS e.g.

<style>
	 .widget > div > div p.custom_group_section {
		font-weight: 500; 
		font-size: larger; 
	 }
</style>

IMPORTANT My example (.widget > div > div p.custom_group_section) selector above is completely made up. You will need to inspect the thing you are trying to style to determine a valid selector

Essentially, you need to read up a bit on CSS selectors and specificity

Here is a quick how to get any elements selector: How to find a CSS selector? | BrowserStack Docs. but it will give you VERY specific (single target) selector - you need to thin it out.