Debian 8 (Jessie) not supported in update-script

In the Running on Raspberry Pi : Node-RED page it says the minimum version of Raspbian is jessie. This is incorrect. I tried to upgrade yesterday and ran into this big problem (a non-functioning Node-RED):

This can take 20-30 minutes on the slower Pi versions - please wait.

Stop Node-RED                       ✔
  Remove old version of Node-RED      ✔
  Remove old version of Node.js       ✔  v6
  Update Node.js LTS                  ✘   Failed to install Node.js - Exit
  Clean npm cache
  Install Node-RED core
  Move global nodes to local
  Install extra Pi nodes
  Npm rebuild existing nodes
  Add shortcut commands
  Update systemd script

Error:
	nodejs : Depends: libstdc++6 (>= 5.2) but 4.9.2-10+deb8u2 is to be installed

I am no linux expert, but after a very long frustrating battle I managed to install Node.js v10 manually (example from: GitHub - nodesource/distributions: NodeSource Node.js Binary Distributions):

curl -sL https://deb.nodesource.com/setup_10.x -o nodesource_setup.sh
	sudo bash nodesource_setup.sh
	sudo apt-get install nodejs
	sudo apt-get install build-essential

And then I edited the above update-script in such a way that the Node.js part is skipped. Finally it was able to install the latest version of Node-RED v1.2.9

I know there is an existing topic about this (Raspian Jessie not supported with latest bash script), but it is already closed, and mentions a solution of upgrading to stretch or buster, but that is really a solution for everybody, and would mean that jessie is not supported anymore.

I suggest either to remove the mentioning of support for Jessie, or change the update-script so that it recognizes this situation and uses Node.js v10 instead of v12.

Please let me know your thoughts on this proposal.

Not directly addressing the problem but if you just needed to upgrade (or install) node-red and leave nodejs as it was you could do
sudo npm install -g --unsafe-perms node-red