Display the daily work of heating system

Hello
I need the collective knowledge to work out a solution for my node red.
I get a 1 second pulse (state goes to 1) via mqtt when my gas meter has advanced by 0.001 qm.
I now want to see in the dashboard the runtime of the single heating process and the amount of gas needed for this during the day. This can be from 0 to about 10 operations as this is dependent on outside temperature and action in the house....
I have a maria db which I could use but was wondering if I could do this with node red alone.
However, I lack the idea how to determine the start and stop of the heating process.
My first attempts have become so confusing and convoluted that I have lost the overview myself and now have to start over.
How would you approach the problem, has someone already realized a similar one. I have no experience with database queries and shy away from something like this, especially since I have no data in the database to test.

EDSTOBI

From a S0 gas consumption you will have a hard time to determine (precisely) the start / stop of your gas burner.
Consumption will be pretty easy since you need to just sum the impulses and multiply with 0.001 and some way to reset on a daily basis.

What I have done in a similar situation is to add an energy meter to the system to measure the power in Watt. If the heating is operating, e.g. circulation pumps etc. are running, then you can compare the power to a threshold to determine the run state.

Since the data is available, I would store it in the database, and do the work of calculationg there too.

If the pulse carries no actual consumption data this table should be OK

create table `gasmeterticks` (
  `id` int(11) NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT,
  `timestamp` datetime NOT NULL default now(),
  PRIMARY KEY (`id`)
)

Similarly create a record for the heating process and update it when it finishes (assuming this is possible)

CREATE TABLE `heaterevent` (