Draw a line in nodered-world-map

Hi nodered experts,

Is there an easier version on how to draw a "link" or a line to world-map dashboard?
similar to this:

If this is not possible, and I need to hard coded all the "linked" devices manually, then any suggestion to make easier is highly appreciated.

Thanks!

Regards,
Henjoe

Hi @Henjoe

I'm no expert at dashboard, but this sounds like something the SVG node is for? by @BartButenaers

Hi, I'm not quite sure what you are asking for, but you can add lines as per the docs https://flows.nodered.org/node/node-red-contrib-web-worldmap.
If you are recording movement then the tracks node may be able to capture the points needed.

1 Like

Hi @dceejay how track node works? Do we have sample sample flow to use this?
I think that's what I need, basically I want to create "pipelines" for water distribution network, however, hardcoding all those "pipes" in a map is a bunch of work. I need something that simply just draw a line from the world map and animate it via "hardcoding".

Ah no - the tracks node is more for tracking (say) a car or phone as it moves... If you want to draw lines then the drawing layer is probably more useful. If you use that to draw a layer - and add a worldmap in node set to watch for drawing events - when you draw a line you should get a set of points back that you caould save and replay whenever you need it.

Hi @dceejay thanks for the information, I will look on this.

Upon searching I also found this tool geojson.io that allows you draw (lines, circle, polygons and arcs) and automatically create a geojson file for you, you can then feed this geojson to worldmap panel and it works fine.

Here is a sample: (geojson was created in geojson.io then fed in worldmap node)

However, I am actually afraid for it's scalability and performance specially when getting "real-time" live data from sensors, supposed I have 10,000 of sensors and feeding in here in the geojson file could make the performance slow.