Dumb question about editing a node

Hi,

I installed a node red node the other day and noticed some buggy behavior. I've never worked on a node before, let alone a project in javascript, yet I was able to successfully make changes to the server.js script in the node's directory in /home/pi/.node-red/node_modules/.... I have copied those changes to a fork of the node on github.

However, I then set about seeing if I could add a config option to the companion .js and .html file. All I did was try to add a select list. First I tried a dynamic select list using oneditprepare, but not only did I not see the list appear in the node's edit panel, I don't even see the label or any indication that I've changed the html file at all.

I restarted my whole raspberry pi and still I see no differences. I understand I'm probably not using a proper development strategy, but is there a way to make changes to the node's edit interface show?

The node is still functioning properly and still reflects the changes I made to server.js.

That asked, what's the best way to tinker with a node's code? Should I create a whole separate copy somehow and give it a different name? How do I deploy changes for testing?

OK. I figured out that I needed to empty my browser cache.

I have another dumb question. I'm trying to add a dynamically populated select list in the node's edit pane (the node's name is location) via a RED.httpAdmin.get('/location/:cmd', RED.auth.needsPermission('location.read'), function(req, res){... method in location.js, but to get the values, I need to grab them from the configuration node (named server).

At first, I got an error when I just tried to access the server via node.server (I had guessed it was saved as a member of the location node object based on the constructor code (I'm not well versed in javascript). So I copied the code from the constructor that grabs the server:

node.server = RED.nodes.getNode(node.config.server);