Can node property dialog use data from config node property?

Hi All,
Let me preface this by saying that I am not a programmer, but know enough to be dangerous. Also I am using a RPi4 running NR 3.0 and Node.js 16.17

OK here goes:
I am trying to modify an i2c port expander node that uses a hidden chip configuration node to define the port expander chip type. For the moment I am focusing on the browser side (HTML file).
When editing the property of the port node, the user can either select a previously defined chip configuration or create a new one. If the latter, the user selects the type of chip (from a list of 5 different port expanders), i2c bus and i2c address. The range of i2c address options is automatically changed based on the chip type selection. So far so good - this all works.
The user is then returned to the port node's property dialog where a port number needs to be selected (a separate port node is needed for each port on the chip). Ports can range from 0-7 for an 8 port expander, or 0-15 for a 16 port expander. What I would like to do is create a dropdown list for the port entry, where the number of options depends on the chip type selected in the chip configuration node, but have been unable to figure out how.

The node I am trying to modify is @pizzaprogram/mcp-pcf-aio

Welcome to the forum Joe.

This is a standard configuration for nodes. The configuration node type provides exactly the kind of drop-down of existing configs + an entry for defining a new config that you describe.

The docs for creating custom nodes contain the details of how this works and there are many examples you can draw on from existing nodes such as the serial node.

Configuration nodes : Node-RED (nodered.org)

Your main node stores the link to the selected configuration so that all relevant data can be accessed from the .js file for the main node.