Dumbing down my arduino to work with Node-Red

Hey All,
I'm a hobbyist and have been developing home automation for about 15 years. I started with just an Arduino and later paired it up with a Raspberry Pi. It's been incredibly slow and arduous but I've stuck with it.

I discovered Node-Red about a month ago and I've barely slept since :wink: What a revelation! OMG! I LOVE NodeRed!

So now my strategy is to dumb down my Arduino, which is doing primarily running PIR sensor and controlling 12V LED lights, and let NodeRed do most of the work. I love the idea of never writing a timer or chasing down syntax errors in Arduino ever again!

Basically all I need the Arduino to do is sense motion and trigger the LEDs and Node-red would do the rest. So my question now is what's the best path forward?

I've read about Firmata for Arduino which sounds interested but I've never used it.

But it seems like it'd be relatively easy to hand code the Arduino for this basic functionality.

What are the best practices here?
Thanks!
Rich

There are many options for the Arduino you could use things like ESPHome or ESPEasy and then send the data/commands back and forth using MQTT. It all depends on what is being done.

Take a gander thru the Share Your Projects section of the forum to see what people are doing and feel free to ask people questions.

You can install Mosquitto on the pi to act as the broker.

If you want to learn more about MQTT then see this tutorial MQTT Essentials - All Core Concepts explained

1 Like

How is your Arduino connected to the Pi?

A lot of people use sensors or relays connected to an ESP8266 instead of an Arduino, because the esp has Wifi and can be flashed with Tasmota as an easy alternative to the Arduino IDE.
Communication to Node-red on a Raspberry uses MQTT over the network.

1 Like

The Arduino and the Pi are connected via serial. I have Mosquitto running on the Pi connected to several esp8266 boards as well.