Dynamic config dashboard

I assume the anwser to this question is going to be uibulder, but still let me ask.

I am building a custom automation process, where define rules, conditions and actions for each rule. This is working so far, now it is time to build a UI to maintain these rules. I need a completely dynamic interface, that generates the UI based on the data that is entered: lists, dropdowns, entry fields.

I would love to see some examples. I have some basic experience with uibuilder, but conceptually I don't yet see how this is going to work.

I assume in this case most of the logic would in on the javascript side and not in Node-Red. Which I guess is not that bad, as it would be easier to debug a complicated logic in Chrome than in a function node.

Also I am very bad at designing a decent UI. Do you know any websites where I can put a basic page together, maybe use some templates and it give me HTML example with CSS? No so much as a complete website, but input forms, etc.

Thanks.

Well, this is probably possible in Dashboard but I don't see that it would give you any benefits and would almost certainly be harder because you will most likely be fighting the underlying AngularJS framework because you need to dynamically create the interface anyway.

This is likely an ideal use-case for UIBUILDER though. :grinning:

The slight downside of using UIBUILDER is that, if I haven't already provided a no-code element that matches one of your needs, you will need to output your own. Thankfully, this isn't too hard but involves a little head-scratching until you've grasped the low-code option JSON format. (Hint: the JSON format for low-code actually mirrors how you would manually create the HTML structure).

Actually, when using either Dashboard or UIBUILDER, you would probably do it in Node-RED. With UIBUILDER though, you can certainly do it either way, whichever you find more comfortable.