Global JSON variable

Hi, I'm pretty new to Node-red, I've been using it for about 2 years, but only to set things up. Im doing a mayor overhaull on my MQTT based smarthome, which has lights with many ways of controlling them, and I want my dashboard to display all the data changed somewhere else. I decided to use a global variable, since I can just send out a JSON object straight from the global var to MQTT. so I want to have a global JSON object, like this:
payload{
brightness:0-255
white_value:0-255
color{
r:0-255
g:0-255
b:0-255
}
transition:0-150
effect:string
state:string
}

now if I for example change the value of brightness, I want to change that in the object (in a function node) but keep the rest the same

you can retrieve the JS object from global context using global.get("name-of-object") and change 1 thing e.g...

var myObject = global.get("name-of-object") || {};
myObject.brightness = 123;
msg.payload =  myObject;
return msg

Important note the above function ^ WILL change the object stored in the global store (since it is a reference)

PS, "JSON object" is not really a thing.. JSON mans "JavaScript Object Notation" - i.e. it is a String representation of a JS object.

I understand that, but in my case I want to use global.set() for just the value myObject.brightness, and not affect any other value in the Object. If I simply use global.set("myObject", brightness), the whole object will just become the brightness.

then dont do that. put the whole object back in the store

var myObject = global.get("name-of-object") || {};
myObject.brightness = 123;
global.set("name-of-object", myObject)

As i alluded to earlier, it isnt really necessary (but is good practice) to call global.set BECAUSE the object it a reference & the globally stored object WILL be updated by simply setting myObject.brightness = 123

best thing you can do is give it a go - best way to learn :slight_smile:

1 Like