Heartbeat Object Inserted into SQlite DB

Hello all!

I am a bit new to this platform and had a question.

I have a couple installations of Node-Red sending a "Heartbeat" message to a "Server" version of Node-Red to just check in and let me know they are alive. I have installed SQlite and would like to store these heartbeats into a DB so I can populate a UI when called upon. What I am having trouble with is formatting the message to the SQlite node correctly. Any help would be appreciated.

My incoming message is a payload object with an ID, Timestamp, CPU load, and CPU temp.

{"clientID":"DemoPI-001","time":"2018-10-13T12:32:29.271Z","cpu_load":"4.2","cpu_temp":"39.2"}

I would like to send this info to SQlite. Thoughts?

have you googled 'sqlite insert' to find the format?

yes sir! Several different searches. Its just me being new. cant seem to get it configured properly. I guess its getting the values out of the message first then formatting them to the SQlite Node that is sliding by me.

Without wishing to derail you chain of thought. Have you considered implementing MQTT? It is trivial to set up and is great for this kind of thing because, in reality, you don't need or want the complexity of a relational database for keeping simple "state".

Simply send the online/offline state to MQTT. If you like you can make that retained but if you do, don't forget to also have the last update date/time - also retained - so that you know when you last heard from the system.