Help with backup location of flows

Hi all,

I'm a complete noob with Node Red, so please go easy - I have Node Red running on a RasPi 3.

I had a few flows on my Node Red when I decided to upgrade.
Unfortunately the upgrade "hung" and I had to restart it. When I eventually got Node Red upgraded, all may flows were gone. It gave me some error, but I can't remember what it was... :man_facepalming:t3:

Is there anywhere that I can look to see of there is a backup on the RasPi? The only node I really need (although having all the flows back would be awesome) is a function Node that I cannot for the life of me remember how I "programmed" - it took sensor readings from a Sonoff POW R2, Status8 command and sent it to a InfluxDB node. But I can't get it working, hence needing the backup...

Any help would be really awesome.
Thanks in advance everyone :grin:

With a standard install, your flows are in ~/.node-red.

Like the OP all my flows, which I spent countless hours on, are gone. Stupidly I did not make a backup of any file in the ~/.node-red directory. I'll figure out a way to do this automatically, either locally or over the network, e.g. to github. If you don't make backups, consider it. Do not assume that nodejs, node-red are stable enough to not have it hit you. The alternative will be inevitably very painful and time consuming.

Thanks @TotallyInformation, appreciate the reply.
I found the flows.json file. Will this have all the old flows or only the current flows in my Node-Red?

If this will only have the current flows, is there anywhere I can try looking for older flows that may be "backed up" somewhere?

The issue is not node-red nor is it node - the issue is universal. If you don't do a backup, expect to get burned.

How did you lose flows? HDD failure? SD card failure? Mis-operation? Install rouge node?

The flows file only contains your current flows.