Help with msg.payload in a function/subflow needed

Hi guys,

First off... I'm a newbie in pretty much all respects, I know a little about programming, but am struggling my way through as best as is possible... Be gentle with me...

I am trying to write a function/subflow to modify msg.payload.xxxxxx

xxxxxx I can set via the environment variables in the subflow template.

What I would like to do is use this environment variable in my subflow to set the "name extension" (I dont know what the correct term is) of the msg.payload... Best described, possibly by example, again, I am not the most learned where it comes to this, so please be patient with me!

Example:

Environment Variable Name: Fred and Fred's Contents: "Voltage"

I wish to: msg.payload."Fred" = 123.4 (in other words have msg.payload.Voltage = 123.4)

Is this possible?

Regds
Ed

Hi @eddee54455

In a function node you can use env.get to retrieve the value of a subflow env property.

You should then be able to do something like this:

msg.payload[env.get("Fred")] = 123.4
return msg;

Thank you!!

I'm still trying to wrap a befuddled brain around .... [{()}] .... these things!!

Hi @knolleary
I'm trying to develop this a bit further, but ran into the limits of my befuddled brain again....

Your above example works 100%, but when I try and "broaden" the scope of it, things seem to go awry...

Using a simple "inject node" I push in a payload.Volts with a value of 250 -
to this line of code:
msg.payload[env.get("Payload1")] = env.get("Payload1TOV");return msg
where:(Payload1 = "Volts" and Payload1TOV = 123456

I get this output:
msg : Object
object
_msgid: "fae1f4e5.417fa8"
payload: object
Volts: 123456 ..... This is 100%!

..... But....

where I use this code:
msg[env.get("Payload1")] = env.get("Payload1TOV");return msg

where:(Payload1 = "payload.Volts" and Payload1TOV = 123456)

I get this Output:
msg : Object
object
_msgid: "732b59d0.d78b18"
payload: object
Volts: 250
payload.Volts: 123456